back
Jellyfish by OWC

Welcome! How can we help you?

Jellyfish Manager

How to manage permissions from an SMB share?

Adding read and write privileges for users can help you control access to shares and folders. Jellyfish Manager has a unique set of tools that makes that extremely easy.

How Permissions Work:

Permissions are set with a top down approach, meaning any User or Group added to Top Level will have those same permissions set in any subdirectory. If you wish to limit a User or Group from accessing certain subdirectories, you must select [addition_Icon_lsn7jm][Add Icon] under the Directories section and select the folder you wish to limit the permissions on. Then add the User or Group to that directory without read or write permissions. If you wish to just give a User or Group access to mount and view the contents of the share, enable the Read option. If you wish to give a User or Group the ability to edit, enable both Read and Write options. If you wish to allow anonymous users to connect to the share, enable Read or Write permissions for the Other group.

Adding a User or Group to a Share:

  1. Navigate to Shares > [your share] > Edit.
  2. Click the [addition_Icon_lsn7jm][Add Icon] icon either under Users or Groups, depending on what you want to add.
  3. Select the desired User or Group you want to add and click [save_dk_hte9hs][Save Icon]
    1. Top Level
      1. At the Top Level, the permissions you set here will be set for all subdirectories.
    2. Subdirectory
      1. Any permissions set at a Subdirectory will only affect the permissions for that directory and any folders in the Subdirectory.
  4. To save, click [save_dk_hte9hs][Save Icon].

Deleting a User or Group from a Share:

  1. Navigate to Shares > [your share] > Edit.
  2. Navigate to the directory you wish to update and click [cancel_dk_ssl7tc][Cancel Icon] next to the User or Group you want to remove from the share.
  3. To save, click [save_dk_hte9hs][Save Icon]. To cancel the changes, click [cancel_dk_ssl7tc][Cancel Icon].

Other Useful Information:

  • Resetting Permissions
    • If you want to reset a share’s permissions to their default value, click [restore_dk_sm_zhjgl4][Restore Icon] enter the admin password and click Yes.
  • Backing up and Restoring Permissions
    • After permissions have been set for a share, it is a good idea to backup the permission configuration in the event a reset is needed. To download the backup file select [download_dk_qr7ryx][Download Icon] and save the file to the local machine. Then in the case of a reset, select [upload_dk_hqtb6k][Upload Icon] and find the file that was downloaded. Click save to restore the share permissions.