How to add, update, and remove an SMB share?

Creating an SMB Share:

  1. Navigate to Shares.
  2. Click on the 52-523186_plus-sign-comments-plus-icon-svg-hd-png.jpgicon under the SMB panel.
  3. Enter SMB settings.
    1. Name - Name the new SMB share.
    2. Quota - Enable if you want a set amount of reserved space for the share.
    3. Recycle - Enable if you want a Recycle Bin that will move deleted files into it, which creates an extra layer of protection for unwanted deletions.
    4. Windows - Enable if you are using a separate Windows workstation to manage the share permissions.
  4. Click to save the settings of the share.

Updating an SMB Share:

Before updating a share ensure that anyone who has the share mounted unmounts.

  1. Navigate to Shares.
  2. Select the share that you want to update.
  3. Update the desired settings.
  4. Click to save the changes.

Deleting an SMB Share:

Before deleting a share ensure that anyone who has the share mounted unmounts. Also deleting a share will delete the corresponding data, so make sure a backup exists if you still wish to have access to the data.

  1. Navigate to Shares
  2. Select the share for deletion.
  3. Selectand enter the admin password.
  4. Select Yes.

Please note that deleting a share will delete all of the data that exists on this share.